Your search results

Geography of Turkey

Turkish Republic is a country in southwest Asia (97%) and partly in the south-eastern Europe (3%).

The capital of the Republic of Turkey is Ankara and largest cities are Istanbul, Izmir, Bursa, Konya, Antalya, Adana.

In the north-west Turkey borders with Bulgaria and Greece, in the east with Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Iran, in the south-east with Iraq and Syria.

Turkey is bordered by four seas: Black, Mediterranean, Aegean and Marmara.

Its area (including inland waters) is 783 562.38 km².

The length of the country from north to south is 600 km, and from east to west – 1,600 km.
The total length of the land border is 2628 km.
The coastline – 7168 km.

Turkey dominated by mountainous terrain, and lowlands are located mainly along the coast.
The highest mountain is Ararat (5165 m) in the east of the country (the Armenian Highland), Erciyes volcano (3916 m) in Central Anatolia and an array of Uludag (2543 m) in the west, near the city Bursa. In the north of Turkey are the Pontic Mountains and to the south, along the coast of the Mediterranean Sea – the Taurus Mountains, between them stretches the Anatolian highlands (up to 1000 meters).

The main rivers are the Tigris, Euphrates, Sakarya, the longest river Kizil Irmak (1150km), the largest lakes are Van and Tuz.

Turkey is at the same distance between the equator and the North Pole.

Compare Listings